The Blue in Elizabeth’s Eyes

33 years ago today, at five in the morning, on a bitter cold day, my life was changed dramatically when my only child, Elizabeth came into this world.  She was five weeks early and weighed five pounds and five ounces, and I Immediately began to wonder what my first 32 years on this earth were all about, because nothing else seemed to have mattered. Now I wonder how she ever learned to walk, because I don’t remember ever having put her down. Last month she graduated from the University of Kentucky at the top of her class while working full time and raising two children, one of whom is a special needs child. Today I thought it appropriate to honor her on her birthday.

When I was on the road with IBM early in my career, I was aboard a flight to New York one morning in May when I was inspired to write a song about her. As the plane lifted off from Bluegrass field, I noticed puffs of clouds that appeared to be hanging on the greenery below, contrasted with the azure blue of the sky and these are the words I wrote. It’s sung as a slow Irish lullaby.

Oh the soft cloudy vapor that hangs on the heather
And blends with the bonnie blue skies
Are so pretty and fair – so crystal and clear
Like the blue in Elizabeth’s eyes

Many are the miles her magical smiles
Have carried my heart by and by
And I’d crawl everyone – all over again
Just to gaze in those beautiful eyes

When I am gone to the stones and the sun
And I’m laying deep down in the rise
You will still hear my song – I’ll be playing along
Through the blue in Elizabeth’s eyes

As I enter heaven – the angels all singin’
“Glory to you goes the prize”
Don’t you know I’ll believe it – I’ll have already seen it
Through the blue in Elizabeth’s eyes

Today we are growing – our happiness flowing
Expanding the binds and the ties
May the world always see – the love within me
Through the blue in Elizabeth’s eyes

About robertmonahan

I grew up across the street from the famed Calumet Farm in Lexington, KY, which began my love for the Bluegrass area and its most famous product, Thoroughbred race horses. I started writing poetry and musical lyrics during my tour of duty with United States Air Force while stationed overseas during the Vietnam War. This developed my experience as well as my appreciation and understanding of diverse cultures which is reflected in my writing. A graduate of Lexington Catholic High School, I hold a Computer Science degree from the University of Kentucky. Following a successful career with IBM and Lexmark International, I am now retired and spend my time writing novels. I, and my wife Judy, have two daughters and five grandchildren

Posted on January 7, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

