You Can Judge a Book by its Cover

I have read many times that one cannot judge a book by its cover, but I beg to differ. My case in point is the artwork brought forth by Sharon Bradley in the design of my book covers. Sharon manages to capture the essence of the story in her brilliant artwork, and I am the fortunate one.

I would like to draw your attention to my first novel and the first story in the Kentucky Chronicle series, The Thoroughbred Conspiracy, a plot to control the Thoroughbred industry through the administration of a genetic poison. I wracked my brain for over two years trying to come up with a worthy cover caption, but to no avail. That is, until Sharon read the story and presented the current cover to my wife, Judy and I one evening. We were mesmerized to say the least.

The sequel to The Thoroughbred Conspiracy, and the second story in the Kentucky Chronicles, Bluegrass Betrayal, concerns two characters from the first story, Callie Collquit and a handsome man named Darkside, who fall in love and are whisked away on a Southern Caribbean cruise where they enact their steamy relationship aboard a luxurious ocean liner. Does this cover capture the storyline?

 

The third Kentucky Chronicle, Unbridled Terror, brings forth several characters from the first two stories as it deals with a sinister group known as the Knights of the Caliphate, who are hell-bent on destroying the city of Louisville, during Derby week, seeking revenge for being duped in the first two stories. Once again, notice how the cover brings forth the storyline through the artwork.

 

It’s not always that a writer can find an artist who can capture the heart and essence of a storyline in the cover artwork, but Sharon Bradley surely does it for me.

If you would like to visit her website, or contact her, she can be found here… http://www.sharonbradleydesigns.com/

P.S. tell her I sent ya. Rob

About robertmonahan

I grew up across the street from the famed Calumet Farm in Lexington, KY, which began my love for the Bluegrass area and its most famous product, Thoroughbred race horses. I started writing poetry and musical lyrics during my tour of duty with United States Air Force while stationed overseas during the Vietnam War. This developed my experience as well as my appreciation and understanding of diverse cultures which is reflected in my writing. A graduate of Lexington Catholic High School, I hold a Computer Science degree from the University of Kentucky. Following a successful career with IBM and Lexmark International, I am now retired and spend my time writing novels. I, and my wife Judy, have two daughters and five grandchildren

Posted on November 16, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

